Friday, July 22, 2011

Megan is a boy or a girl?


So, is Megan a boy or a girl? Well, most people believe she is a boy.


Sleeps and shake leg like a boy.




Looks like a boy and as cheeky as destructive as a boy.
Watches soccer with daddy with the intensity of a little boy. Cheers to a goal like a boy.

When she is serious and stern, looks like grandpa.

Everything looks like food to Megan... drools and eats like a boy.

Can never keep still like a boy.
 My mum in law insists Megan wear dresses in the day.


 And Pink is the color of choice.



 Hopefully in a dress, she will behave more like a girl.
Hey! Enough of these paparazzi shots ok! Take photo must pay money ok!!

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Carpets

I do not intend to blog about carpets... My whole mind is swimming with "stuff". Negative thoughts, bad people, bad policies, bad practices... omg I need to brush up on my vocabulary.. But in essence... BAD... BAD STUFF

I do not intend to blog about carpets but I cannot blog about bad people, bad people, bad practices and bad policies, bad people (aiyoh.. why I repeat bad people 3 times?) ... Well, not that I cannot but what is the point? Plus most likely I will just whine and whine and everyone reading it end up feeling depressed.

But I need to write to release some pent up emotions. So I shall blog about carpets.

I do not like carpets. Plus I always hated it when hotel designers give me the same old boring designs. Yawn. But... there are always talented individuals who manage to warm my heart and make me fall in love once in a while with beautiful creations... make me fall in love with carpets... Yes, for all of you not in the trade, carpets are designed if you have not noticed...

Carpets do not need to be boring... It can simply be a blue carpet... but WHAT a blue carpet!!!

Carpets set the mood for the space. Monochrome black and white but oh so strong and sexy. Furniture a bit sala but do you even notice?

I feel an intense love for this color green... Top flower a bit amateurish (still cute) while you can tell the bottom one is designed by an old hand... how can I get my hands on this??? Ahhh.... I am already feeling better and not so BAD...
I swear one day I will have one of these in one of my hotels... double egg yolk sum more.
Perfect.
I was going to use this pattern as a wall feature when I realised this is actually an LED carpet by LAMA Concept...

 Really really, who says carpets cannot be interactive... Designed by mothers for kids. My bet.

Last but not least... a useful carpet... WOW.. I like.... where can I use this in?

And alrighti.. I am feeling so damn good now and I hope you guys as well.... Have a blast!

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Parenting

Just had a session with someone who was shocked that I did not bring Megan back home every single night of the weekday. Despite my explaination that Megan may be asleep by the time we finish work and we do not see it as a good practise to wake her up just to drive her home to sleep for the night, I was labeled as a bad mummy.

You must spend time to bond with your baby.
I don't think I am not bonding with the baby. We are bonding fine....
You should bring her home everynight! You also need to bond at night.
But she is sleeping. She is asleep by 8ish.
You know YY, the baby can bond with you even when she sleeps... she can feel your body warmth and recongise your scent... She should be WITH you...
Huh? Megan sleeps on her own in the other room... why does she need to sleep in our bed when she feels safe and secure in her own room?
That is the problem with you Singaporans. You give birth and you don't bond. You guys are working so you should not let Megan sleep so early... Let her sleep at 11 plus so that you have time to play with her after work... bonding bonding...
WAT?
Advertisments lie.
They protray insurance agents as people who listens to our needs. It feels quite the opposite when we spoke to an agent on our and Megan's insurance coverage. Ken could not convince her that what we really intend to get is a basic coverage because she (speaking with love and passion about her own very young daughter) feels that all parents should leave at least a million dollar legacy for their kids! Don't you love your daughter? Don't you want her to be well taken care off?

Yah Yah Yah.. It is exactly because I love her that I think she should learn how to earn her keep. And hmmmm not spending every minute of my off work hours with Megan does not mean that I do not love her. Yes kids are important but not soooo important that they need to consume my every breath of life...

If there is one thing I have learned since becoming a mother... is that parenting is extremely personal. Every parent has their very strong opionion on how to bring up their kids and outsiders' opionions are not always well recieved. Ken's and my mum have very different approaches to parenting as well. Who is to say which is better in the context of a different circumstance on a different kid? Even Ken and me do not always see eye to eye on this topic.

but at least both of us are clear on some things.

No sleeping at 11pm because mum and dad want to play with you. And sorry... no legacy...

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Happy 6th Month Old!!

Happy 6th month Megan!!

I remember the time when she started crawling in circles... then she started to crawl backwards when she wanted to reach an object in front of her... A week or so ago, she finally lift her heavy butt up and start coordinating her legs and arms. And suddenly, she advanced forward! Suddenly she can touch her care bear.. I think she noticed it too.. Because her eyes lit up and she turned her head to search for me for affirmation. "Did you see that!!!?" She laughed heartily.

I dropped everything and clapped my hands, praising her and encouraging her to move towards me... And she did!! And BOY!!! How extremely happy and proud she was... She could not stop practising the crawl and soon she was out of the mat, onto the floor. I called everyone to announce the big news. "hello hello.. Megan can CRAWL!!!"

This marks a new era.. the era of mobility. The end of our freedom.

She started on her rice cereals at 5 months and I don't think she really likes it. Nevertheless, she
now officially joins us at the dinning table during meal times. Our meal times I mean. NICE!

Oh yes, she started to teeth and feeding becomes difficult as her gums hurt and she has no appetite. But, count ourselves lucky she did not develop fever, only crankiness. Only grandma can handle her when she unleash her fury! WOW, tigress..

 Who would have thought that 2011 elections is so damn exciting!?
 Even Megan loves to watch the rallies

yes, you can so tell from her eyes that she has made up her mind which parties to support!
Of coz, watching daddy win puzzle fighter on the PSP is also Megan's favorite past time. I suspect Megan loves daddy more than me. I try not to be jealous... I try.



Grab Megan to pose for the blanket collection series that mimi made and my gal is a natural! However last photo looks like a "see, no pimple" shot! What is she thinking!!!!? Model for wrong product issit??!

I am such a egoistic mother... Ken and me recently love to bring the dumpling out for shopping trips on the weekends.. Ken wanted her to see more people and not be afraid of new faces.. I just LOVE hearing strangers praise her and fall in love w her... and I can carp on such " so cute" praises FOREVER...

What a loser...
Why did everyone ask me what I did to her hair??
Firstly, people will start by saying "he is so cute.."...
I will say "it's a she.."...
"a girl? what did you do to her hair? why cut like that??"

Sigh.... we did not cut her hair... and we are all concerned that her hair grew so slowly.. and .. grow like that. Grandma even applied hair tonic and literally watch Megan's hair grow everyday. She can actually call me and tell me " I think today a bit longer"... then in the evenings "Today this side more hair already hoh???" See? We are all trying our best to get her hair in order... AND.. she is NOT a boy

Monday, May 9, 2011

Bad Company

I am distressed, devastated, crushed.

My backpacking kakis are packing their bags for Uzbekistan this June. I can swallow the fact that they leave for Laos without me one month before my wedding. I am ok with receiving a souvenir from their Tokyo trip last year. But. I cannot CANNOT forgive them heading out to Uzbekistan!!!! UZBEK!!! How do you even pronounce this country???

And why Uzbek? You gonna thank the jappy girl whom Ally discovered has visited India, Jordan, Morocco... fine.. I have no idea where this Jappy girl has visited. But the moral of the story is she has visited too many countries that they feel challenged or shall I say threatened on their street cred meter. To beat this jappy girl (although of coz no one is actually competing with them), Ally and Ix dished out three out-of-the-chart options - Sikkim, Xinjiang, Uzbekistan.

Me and Ally chose Xinjiang. Lx wanted Sikkim. Uzbek turned out to be the cheapest place to visit... SO it was decided... UZBEKISTAN...
Little dumpling is still young... of coz I can't backpack. So I am shutting out all these noise and chatter of their preparation. Friends are suppose to make you feel good.. Sigh... why did I have such bad company who make me feel... feel...how damn low my street cred meter is!

To my two beloved friends : Go mosque out and mutton out!