Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Life as Life goes

We all have our moments of insecurities.

We become uncertain of our directions and decisions. Lose confidences in our strengths and become overly sensitive about our weaknesses. I am having that moment now. Not a huge one but sizable.

Started my new job and I have to say... I love it!!! The outward facing part is fun and filled with adrenaline... They call it business development - totally new to me, but which I have heard I am a natural. Quite surprising considering I do not feel comfortable approaching people with intention... I feel like an insurance agent! The redeeming factor may be that I am really passionate about what I talk about... hence I talk well.

Passion... a term I have not embraced for quite a while and high time I grab chunks and chunks of it... This new job allows me to merge my two passions - Design and setting up hotels.

Inward facing - I have to manage 20 odd people in a studio. How hard can that be?! Right?

To a certain extend, I can be quite wrong....

I have heard before that an office does not run by itself... and YES.. it does not!!! Damn! You need to motivate the staff, keep them busy, chart their learning and career path, balance the work load, manage office gossip, ensure quality work... its a whole pot of small little things but all interconnected and need to be managed... And more importantly, an office needs a leader.. and hey!!! Last heard, I am the leader...


Uncertainty as to what to do can drive up an easy solution -  hide in one singular role and let someone else make the decision. Inaction. Inaction. Inaction. I admit, I do that... at times...

Grow up Gal! Stop hiding and do something! I know what I can do, should do but I am just not doing it!!! One step may not make a world of difference but at least it is a step and it is better than not doing anything. Action Action Action Woman!! Control what you can control and for those that you can't, don't take it to heart! Hmmm.... sounds like what my bestest fren used to tell me all the time....
And hey, I should do just that!

Since the new year, I have met up with many individuals new and old. Not all encounters have been pleasant and good. Some people make me beam, they are so full of vitality and hope even with setbacks in their life. And that is because they find life too precious to be wasted on things they do not believe in and are willing to take a chance and make a change. These friends make me proud.

Other people prefer a slow and steady decay, blaming everyone else for their misfortunes instead of taking things in their own hand. The fact that people I seriously care about prefer the latter life used to bother me greatly.  Now I have come to understand and accept that while some people are happy being happy, others are very contented being miserable. At the end of the day, I acknowledge that my idea of the way forward is not the same as everyone else. Live and let live. Everyone has the right to live their life the way they wanted it, their reasons may not be apparently to me.

Megan has been extremely trying. All the signs of Terrible Two, except that she is 15 months at best... 2.5hrs of hoaxing and still not sleeping is exploding my patience beyond my threshold. I have no idea how my in laws do it...they can accept such unreasonable behavior from Megan as part of life and live life as normal!!! I am so fortunate to have them around to help out with the naughty one... Megan would have drove me bananas...

Sensing my little stresses here and there, Ken has been most thoughtful. He told me I should stop frowning and gonna smile today because four years ago on this very day, I made a decision that changed my life!!!!.... Huh?!!! "I propose to you on this day four years ago leh..."

Hahahha... sure or not... dunno weather you are telling the truth or not! Hahahhahha but oh geee...YES you are right... I took a chance four years ago and four years later, I am still smiling.... Love you, my bui bui dear dear BBDD.

From your baby turtle (BBTT)

Saturday, December 31, 2011

A-Z food book

My 1-10 book has been a huge success with Megan. My A-Z animal chart... er... not so much. I think the chart is more suitable for slightly older kids ( and my MIL says that some of the animals are too chim!!!)
So I sewed another more Megan friendly A-Z book to get her started. Make it simple, my MIL says... yah but I can't stand A for Apple, B for boy - what is the relation between Apple and Boy??? My A-Z book has to be thematic. And the theme shall be FOOD... Designed and sewn by me, combined and constructed by my Mimi...
The Standard - A for Apple
 B for Banana
 C for Carrot,
Megan loves carrots
 D for Durian.
Megan loves Durian too... dun tell the elders I fed her this...
 E for Eggplant.
I wanted E for Eggs but I dunno how to depict eggs
F for Fish
Gee... what an ugly ugly fish!!!
 G for Grapes
Sigh, not enough purple felt. A bit weak
 H for Hamburger
 I for Ice-cream
 J for Jelly
 K for Kiwi.
Black seeds made of black beads.. textile!
 L for Lemon
 M for Mangosteen
 N for Noodles
 O for Orange
 P for Pear
 Q for Quaker
My mum says PLEASE LAH... But honestly, what alternatives??
 R for Rice
 S for Strawberry
 T for Tomato
 U for Unagi
Haahahah... U tell me, U for what?
 V for Vegetable
Yah, everyone thinks my V is real lousy and I think so too
 W for Watermelon
 X for... make a guess
 Y for Yam
I am so so proud of my yam.. looks so natural!!!
Z for Zucchini
Megan, mummy didn't know such veg exist until your godma, Meiling, made a very nice Zucchini sandwich for me. Remember to ask Godma to make one for you too when you grow up!!

Sunday, December 25, 2011

One month VACATION

Yes... I quit my job... After two months of notice which include one months of farewell lunches, I joined my fellow friends at the Departure Gate No. 48 and waved goodbye. Ahead of me is one long month of R&R before I embark on another exciting journey with a new bunch of fellows...

Normally, this is the time you will see me backpacking Morocco.. Yippee!!! But the little one at home HOW?? Plus there has been too much backlog in my life that actually really need clearing and sorting... I will put this month to great use.

But before that, let's look at what I left behind...
A zoo!!! and Sue!!!
And while Rita was away for her honey moon in Cuba, I let loose a shark in the ocean. I wonder if she discovered two of her swimmers were er... gone..
So what have I been doing?
Reading Megan good stuff like the 1-10 book the eighty eighth time. 
Playing the same old game and see her laugh and scream before you act.
Fighting with her over the remote control... I mean all the remote controls...

Other than spinning around the Megan universe, I have done a few very impressive things...
I watched Boys over Flowers... TWICE... oh he is so good looking, whoever he is...
 OMG so good looking...
I am in lust after the new Panamera after I saw this car's sexy butt... oh so good looking...
Oh yah.... I don't have a driving licence YET and last heard I skipped my FTT!!!
Broke my three shoe rule and expanded my collection to five. oh so pretty.....

Did someone just say "so shallow"... hello? Did someone just speak???

Sunday, December 18, 2011

The Conversation IN the pool

Bali is HOT HOT HOT... I am totally sun burnt. 
Someone said we were like monitor lizards swimming in the pool... But we look more like hippos trying our best to float. Actually I think we did not even make any effort to float our fat asses... We all just sat there.... did we not??? BUT we are such intelligent hippos!!! Just hear us talk...
Under the influence of ice cold beer, we became smarter...
Then came the coconuts and hmmmm.... the conversation really got heated up.

I think it all started when sumone wanted to float her coconut drink.

A: Too bad coconuts cannot float
B: Coconuts can float... see see... it floats but is toppling over
D: Cannot float lah... no husk how to float! This one the husks all removed liao for us to drink
C: isn't this the husk?... the husk is on the outside, this white part?

D: No lah... I watch a documentary of a monkey peeling the husks away in sections, don't look like this one... The husks are all removed...
C: Please!! This coconut has not been husked lah... this outside skin is still green... green color on plants means has the ability to make food so this is the outer most skin of the fruit!!! If this part is the outer most skin then this part is the husk!!! You are holding the whole fruit not a dehusked version!!!
D: Wha, your biology very good leh
A: What biology??? Coconut should be under botany right?

D: So you mean the husk is inside ah... Ai you, ell us the answer leh you v smart one...
B: If I am not wrong, textbook says the husk is in the inside..

C: No!!! Look look look. This skin is already starting to peel in shreds... this is THE fibrous husk!!!
A: Then where is the hard brown shell? Inside? I don't see leh... you know the market auntie grind the coconut milk is always white on the inside, brown hard skin on the outside.. this one not brown leh...
D: yah, I watch the documentary, the monkey did not peel this, the monkey peel a brown husk... Later ask your father will know.

A: Why must ask my father? Because he is the monkey who peel the husk? So he knows???
D: hahahah...No lah... people stay in kampong will know wat...
C: Please loh... coconut trees grow by the beach... Not in kampong ok

To protect the identities of these intellects, all names of personnel involved have been replaced with ABCs... I can just say they all look like the photo below:
A: then durian float or not huh?
E: No... There must be a reason why fruits have the ability to float one. Durian no need to disperse by the sea what so don't need to float
A: Oh... this is the logic...U sure?
B: But But apples float what.
E: Shit...
C: Er... can ask them to buy some fruits later so that we can do some float experiments here???

.......................